Conference Council on Youth Ministries Report

September 23, 2020

On September 12, 2020 the Conference Council on Youth Ministries (CCYM) met at First UMC, Newton. This year's council is made up of 23 youth and 3 adults from 7 districts across Westen North Carolina. The members of the council elected 4 of their peers to serve as the executive committee. The council elected Joseph Navarro (Metro District) to serve as President, Talon Shuffler (Catawba Valley District) to serve as Vice President, Alex Sisk (Catawba Valley District) to serve as Secretary, and Kayla Stewart (Uwharrie District) to serve as Vice Secretary.  - Alex Sisk, CCYM Secretary
"We as CCYM want to be the voice for young people all over the conference on a multitude of matters. We want the people in the WNCC to understand who we are and what we stand for. We are more than a bunch of teenagers. We are a collective group of youth using our voices for the better good of the Church." - CCYM President, Joseph Navarro
I am so excited for and proud of our Conference Council on Youth Ministries. They worked hard last year to make some much needed updates to our CCYM guidelines and structure and to dream for the next quadrennium. Last year we formed a CCYM Covenant; at our meeting in September we edited and renewed our CCYM Covenant (see below); our Covenant helps keep us all accountable to one another and to the conference for our character and to fulfill our mission. This year our focus is to raise awareness of CCYM and YSF - the Youth Service Fund. We also hope to work with Havaleh to provide resources for Youth Ministries around the conference.

-Shannon LeMaster-Smith, CCYM Coordinator