Churches recognized for special anniversaries at Annual Conference

July 26, 2017

  During the 2017 session of the WNC Annual Conference, the Conference Commission on Archives and History recognized the following congregations as celebrating significant anniversaries during 2017: Bicentennial (organized 1817):

Jackson UMC, Guilford County (an early African-American congregation)

Prospect UMC, Union County

  Sesquicentennial (organized 1867):

Center Grove UMC, Cabarrus County (organized as Methodist Episcopal Church, South)

First UMC, Dallas, Gaston County (originally organized as a Methodist Episcopal Church, and later became part of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South)

Little Laurel UMC, Ashe County (organized as Methodist Episcopal Church)

Mount Zion UMC, Stokes County (organized as Methodist Protestant Church)

Oak Grove UMC, Rowan County (organized as Methodist Episcopal Church, South)

Wells Spring UMC, Forest City, Rutherford County (organized as Methodist Episcopal Church, one of the earliest African-American congregations in Rutherford County)

Also recognized was Bethel UMC, Davie County, as having been inadvertently omitted from the list of churches celebrating their bicentennial in 2016.