2021 Conference Award Winners

June 10, 2021

On June 10, the Conference gathered on Zoom to celebrate outstanding leaders in ministry across the Western North Carolina Conference. 
The Francis Asbury Award
The Francis Asbury Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to fostering United Methodist ministries in higher education at the local, district or annual conference level. It is awarded annually to one honoree per annual conference. Honorees are chosen by the conference Board of Higher Education and Campus Ministry and reported to GBHEM.
This year’s recipient is Rev. Larry Jones. For the past 16 years, he has served as the campus minister for the Winston Salem Wesley Foundation, on the campuses of Wake Forest University, Salem College, and the University of North Carolina School of the Arts.
The Foundation for Evangelism Harry Denman Award
This award honors United Methodists selected by the annual conference for their exceptional ministry of evangelism - expressed in Word (what), Sign (why), and Deed (how) – _that brings people into a life transforming relationship with Jesus Christ. A Harry Denman Evangelism Award recipient consistently introduces those they serve to the Good News of Jesus Christ. 
The 2021 Laity Recipient is Tim Hoffman, an active member of Bethlehem United Methodist in Mocksville. Rev. Dr. Suzanne Michael shares, “Tim Hoffman’s life is an exemplar of a Harry Denman Award recipient. He embodies the characteristics of a good person found in Micah 6:8 “He has told you, O mortal, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but do justice, and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God?” Time creates ways to ignite and reignite the spiritual flame within others; as he does so, he walks humbly with his Lord. Tim approaches leadership projects by asking - ‘Where is God at work in the world and how can I use my giftedness to join God in that work?’ Tim embraces ample opportunities to participate in and develop ministries that nurture and grow God’s kingdom on earth.” Tim is an active lay leader in his local congregation as well the District Lay Leader for Yadkin Valley.  
The 2021 Clergy Recipient is Rev. Dr. Stephanie Moore Hand. She has been consistent and tireless for many years in sharing the good news of Jesus Christ and setting up opportunities, systems, and processes to lead and teach others in innovative evangelism. A deacon in full connection to the Western North Carolina Conference, she currently serves as the Metro District Vitality Associate and recently coordinated the Metro District COVID-19 vaccine efforts. She also is actively engaged as an inspirational leader at St. Mark’s UMC in Charlotte. Rev. Pam Blackstock shares, “She is a worthy recipient of this prestigious award.  Reverend Hand epitomizes what a faith-filled, compassionate evangelist is.  Our Conference mission statement reads, "Follow Jesus, Make Disciples and Transform the world." The world is not evangelized by churches, but by Spirit-filled disciples who love God and neighbor. Rev. Dr. Stephanie Hand exemplifies this example of selflessness for the sake of the Gospel.”
Scouting Award
The Bishop’s Award of Excellence is established for the purpose of recognizing congregations and units within the United Methodist Church that extend their ministry to children and youth by creating a faith-based environment for children, youth, their families and their leaders to participate in the following civic youth-serving agencies: Girl Scouts of the USA, Camp Fire USA, 4-H, and Boy Scouts of America. 
This year’s recipient is Rev. Chandler Ragland, pastor of Avery’s Creek United Methodist in Arden, NC. 

Certificate in Church Treasury
Launched in 2020, the Certificate for Church Treasurers provides local church volunteer treasurers training in the task of efficient and effective management of local church finances. The following individuals have completed their certification. 
Congratulations to the 2020 and 2021 Classes of Certified Church Treasurers
Tifanny Alston
Lewis Burgman
Becky Chopin
Corky Clodfelter
Sam Crowell
Tina Evans
Kathy Hartsell
June Hundley
Jeannie Kiser
Charles Moody
Ken Norton
Margaret Pope
Phoebe Seawright
Earonita Strong
Brenda Turner
Thelma Wright
Julia Willis
Deborah Arrington
Sharline Bridges
Cindy Briles
April Broadway
Dana Chrismon
Deborah Hawkins
Brenda Hemphill
Gloria Hernandez
Kenneth Knight
Jelena Krum
Amy Register
Frank Rogers
Martin Rose
Natalie Scott
Nancy Thompson
Page Washburn
Reginald Withers