Disaffiliating Churches 2021

The Special Session of the General Conference in February 2019 created a pathway for churches to leave the denomination under certain circumstances. ¶ 2553 allows a church to disaffiliate “for reasons of conscience regarding a change in the requirements and provisions of the Book of Discipline related to the practice of homosexuality or the ordination or marriage of self-avowed practicing homosexuals as resolved and adopted by the 2019 General Conference, or the actions or inactions of its annual conference related to these issues which follow.”  ¶ 2553 stipulates that the church must hold a church conference whereby at least 2/3 of the members in attendance vote to disaffiliate. The church then negotiates a “disaffiliation agreement” with the Conference Board of Trustees.  Finally, the annual conference must approve the agreement.  The following churches are requesting disaffiliation under ¶ 2553 of the 2016 Book of Discipline at this session of the annual conference: Calvary (Fleetwood), Dryman's Chapel (Franklin), Green Hill (Lenoir), Hoey Memorial (Shelby), Mount Carmel (Monroe), Mount Gilead (Randolph County), Mount Hebron(Forest City), Oak Grove (Lawndale), Olin (Olin), Palm Tree (Lawndale), Prospect (Monroe), Snow Creek (Statesville), South River (Woodleaf), Sunshine (Bostic), Withers Chapel (Belews Creek), Zion (Todd). On the pages that follow, you will find the disaffiliation agreements approved by the Conference Board of Trustees. We will vote on the disaffiliation of each church individually.

 Click on a box below to see the church's disaffiliation agreement.